POEM: Year to Year

Hey everyone! I’m back with another poem, as that’s what’s been motivating my writing lately. Can you all tell I’m a tired gal with finals coming up? Good luck to me, and anyone else out there struggling, be it with school or otherwise~ Enjoy

 

How am I not supposed to see the world in extremes

when dogs are opposite of cats, the moon and stars exist in singularity of their difference

man and woman, hot and cold, inclusion and exclusion.

I fell in love with something entirely.

If my brain can only see two extremes for now, then everything must fall into one or the other

and I want you to guess which end I am closer to these days.

I’m not talking about anything serious

though the way I think sometimes is hardly counter evidence for that.

From one c note to the subsequent one, from one octave to the next, from one piano to another

That’s how the world works right?

One’s upper limit is another’s lower.

They say the universe is always growing.

Or is it constantly shrinking? I can’t be bothered with remembering things like that these days.

Just like the color of my skin, I’ve probably been the palest I can be

but every summer I bronze deeper and deeper than before.

That’s really just how the world works, and I’ve never given up on seeing the horizon,

on just how beautiful the world can be, whether it is growing or shrinking.

It makes no difference to me, funnily enough, for someone who claims to see nothing inbetween. 

One thought on “POEM: Year to Year

Leave a comment